Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label book reviews. Show all posts

Monday, November 29, 2021

Mini Book Reviews: November 2021

Disclaimer: Thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for a PRC of The Maid. This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon affiliate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

November was a mixed bag of reading for me. I picked up several critically acclaimed, best of 2021 books, but they weren't my favorites. This isn't the first time this has happened to me. Sometimes I think that the critics are looking for something different than the average reader. I read for pleasure and to escape. When looking for books to read, my advice is to do what I do and find a few book bloggers who like the same books as you do. Read what they like. Some of my favorite book bloggers include Susie at Novel Visits and Sarah at Sarah's Bookshelves. While you might not always agree with what they pick, it's a good start. I follow both of these ladies on Goodreads as well. 

Monday, November 1, 2021

Mini Book Reviews: October 2021

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. Thanks to NetGalley and the publishers for the PRC of Win Me Something and Running is a Kind of Dreaming.

October was a mixed bag of reading. There were a couple really good books, a couple of meh reads, and a DNF. While it feels like for most of the year I've been lucky to have an abundance of good books to choose from, October felt like a little bit of a dry spell. I dug into my NetGalley list as well as my Kindle downloads for a few books. Gotta love a good backup plan and I was not disappointed! I need to do that more often.

Monday, October 4, 2021

Mini-Book Reviews: September 2021

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. I received a copy of Three Sisters, Damnation Spring, and Running is a Kind of Dreaming from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

September was full of good reads! I was lucky to get my hands on a bunch of library holds. In fact, so many books came off my hold list that I had to let some of them go. I also vowed this month to work on my NetGalley shelf. 


Monday, August 30, 2021

Mini-Book Reviews: August 2021

Disclaimer: I received a PRC of Beautiful Country from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review. This post contains affiliate links.


Thanks for all the great feedback on last month's book review post! I didn't know if it would be pretentious of me to post my reviews like that, but everyone seemed to like it! I have a few favorite book bloggers that I look to for recommendations, so I hope you will find something that you might want to read here. This month, I continued to heal from my injury and had plenty of downtime for reading. I read 6 fiction books and 1 non-fiction book this month. There was also a running book and I'm sharing my thoughts on that below. 

As always, feel free to share your thoughts with me, either in the comments section or privately. Thanks for reading! By the way, if this post looks oddly formatted to you, I've had some issues with Blogger. Sorry about that!

Monday, August 2, 2021

Mini-Book Reviews: July 2021

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links.

Starting this month, I'll be sharing my mini-book reviews in their own post! I've been kind of hijacking my coffee talk posts and squeezing in my reviews.. My mantra has always been "so many books, so little time", but laid up for the past month with a broken ankle and foot, I've had time to read a lot of books this month. I have a few new releases and some backlist reads from my Kindle app. It's been a good reading month. I hope you enjoy the new format! As always, you can follow me on Goodreads to see what I'm reading currently.

Thursday, July 1, 2021

Coffee Talk and June's Mini Book Reviews

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links.

Let's catch up on life off the road over a cup of coffee! I'm having my usual Dunkin with a scoop of GLG collagen and a splash of half and half. Lately, I've been pouring it over ice and it is oh so good on these hot steamy mornings we've been experiencing. What are you having? What would you tell me over coffee?

Thursday, June 3, 2021

Coffee Talk and May's Book Reviews

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links.

Let's catch up over coffee! It's always fun to check in and hear what everyone is doing off the road. What are you having? As always, I'm drinking my Dunkin' with a scoop of GLG Collagen and a splash of half and half. 

What would you tell me over coffee?

Thursday, May 6, 2021

Coffee Talk and April's Book Reviews

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links.

Good morning! Let's catch up over a cuppa--I'm trying a new-to-me super tasty Starbucks Golden Turmeric blend that I picked up at the grocery store. It's not as roasty as their traditional coffees, and with the turmeric, I get a little anti-inflammatory power too! Of course, there's a scoop of GLG Collagen powder and a splash of half and half, because that's how I roll. 

What's in your cup? What would you tell me over coffee?